Official rules for the Hack the Map hackathon.

Event Dates

January 25, 26, 2018.

Team entry period

EU Teams

Team entry start: Thursday, January 25 at 9:00 AM GMT (1:00 AM PT).

Team entry deadline: Thursday, January 25 at 12:00 PM GMT (4:00 AM PT).

US Teams

Team entry start: Thursday, January 25 at 9:00 AM PT (5:00 PM GMT).

Team entry deadline: Thursday, January 25 at 12:00 PM PT (8:00 PM GMT).

Hacking period

Team hacking start: Thursday, January 25 at 12:00 PM GMT (4:00 AM PT) for EU teams, 12:00 PM PT (8:00 PM GMT) for US teams.

Team hacking ends: Friday, January 26 at 2:00 GMT (6:00 AM PT) for EU teams, 2:00 PM PT (10:00 PM GMT) for US teams.

Submission period

Submission deadline: EU teams Friday, January 26, 2:00 PM GMT (6:00 AM PT) or US teams 2:00 PM PT (10:00 PM GMT). (projects may be submitted anytime before the deadline, but not after.)

Presentations start: Friday, January 26, 2:00 PM PT for all teams.

Presentation period: Friday, January 26, 2:00 PM to 4:00 PM PT for all teams.

Judging period

Judging start: Friday, January 26, 2:00 PM PT (or when the first team presentation begins.)

Winners announced: Friday, January 26, 4:00 PM PT (or shortly after the final presentation.)

Eligibility

Open to employees of Esri, including Esri Int'l Distributors.

Esri employees are required to have their manager’s approval. There is no charge code for this event.

Participants must be able to appear in-person at Esri headquarters or via Skype video conference. Slack is also used for event communication.

Participants can form teams of up to 6 individuals.

Teams must declare participation by the Team entry deadline.

Submission Requirements

Submissions will be judged on content developed during the hackathon submission period only. Any component developed before the hackathon submission period is not eligible for judging.

All teams must declare their participation by the Team entry deadline by completing the team entry form.

All code must be submitted to a public Github repository and available for the judges and event organizers to access.

The submitted solution must build and run in a standalone app on a PC or Mac computer or in a simulator running on a PC or Mac computer.

All projects submitted must use the ArcGIS platform APIs in some way. Projects submitted that do not use ArcGIS developer technology are not eligible for judging and prizes.

All submissions must use only publically released APIs, SDKs, software and services. Since the submissions are made to public github repositories, and our ultimate goal is to show your project off on a public facing website, we cannot accept submissions that use beta or internally available non-public components.

All submitting teams must be able to perform a 5-minute presentation of their solution. Teams may present in-person, via videoconference, or by submitting a video of their presentation. When presenting in-person at least one team representative must be on site during the presentation period at the specific time requested. When presenting via videoconference at least one team representative must be online during the presentation period at the specific time requested. When submitting a video the video must be submitted with the project by the submission deadline.

All submissions must include: title, elevator pitch (short description), technology used, link to public github repository, all contributing team members, project description, 3 screenshots. Video, additional screenshots, project thumbnail are optional.

If any additional hardware is used it will not be considered in the judging. If additional hardware is required it is the team's responsibility to make it available to the judges during the judging period.

Submission Rights & Display

Esri maintains full rights to the resulting project and maintains the right to continue further development of the idea.

Esri will have the right to include the project on its website.

Prizes & Winner Selection

One prize will be awarded to an overall winning project as determined by the judges. The overall prize will be a trophy awarded to the winning team.

There will be three first prize winners, one in each of the three categories, as determined by the judges.

There will be three second prize winners, one in each of the three categories, as determined by the judges.

The judges will be instructed to grade the projects on a scoring of 1 (lowest) to 5 (highest) in the following categories:

  • Applies to category – Civic, Consumer, Enterprise, or best overall;
  • Real world applicability and usefulness;
  • Application of ArcGIS technology and utilization of ArcGIS APIs and SDKs;
  • User experience and design;
  • Submission quality - how well the project adheres to the submission guidelines;
  • Project quality - based on clear architecture and code organization of the solution;
  • Project completeness – how much of the proposed solution was built and how much worked;
  • Quality of presentation - how well the product is represented, how well the presentation follows the presentation guidelines.

The score is determined by adding all the scores across all the judging criteria categories for each contest judge.

The winner is the team with the highest total score.

The first prize winner is the team with the highest score in each of their respective selected categories (after removal of the overall winner.)

The second prize winner is the team with the next highest score in each of their respective selected categories (after removal of the overall winner and the first place winner in that category.)

In the case of a tie, the prize will be awarded to the team that presented first.

In the case not enough projects are completed in a given category then no prize will be awarded in that category.

Code of conduct

All participants are required to abide by Esri's code of conduct.